May 18, 2024

Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP)


Last Update on November 01, 2023

The “Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP)” is a socioeconomic, center-left political party in Pakistan. The PPP establish in 1967. PPP is a member of the Socialist International. The Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) previously ran on a socialist platform, and its announcement goals remain the same. Converting Pakistan into a social-democratic state, supporting secular and egalitarian ideals, ensuring social justice, and retaining a strong military are the goals of the PPP. It is one of three main political parties of Pakistan, including the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz and the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf.

Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) has been a prominent center-left force in Pakistan since its founding in 1967. Its leadership has been dominated by members of the Bhutto family. Its power center is in Sindh, the southern province of Pakistan.  The Pakistan Peoples Party has been elected to power five times (1970, 1977, 1988, 1993, and 2008). PPP has been the main opposition party four times (1990, 1997, 2002, and 2013). There have been four PPP Prime Ministers in all.

During the 1970s, the Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) was dominant in Pakistani politics. However, it suffered a brief setback under Zia-ul-military Haq’s dictatorship. Following the death of Zia in 1988, a two-party system evolved, consisting of the People’s Party and the Islamic Democratic Alliance. From 1999 to 2008, the party was the main opponent of the military administration led by Pervez Musharraf.

During the 2013 general election, the party admitted defeat. PPP lost large swaths of support in Punjab Province to the nascent Movement for Justice. However, it kept its provincial government in Sindh. For the first time in history, the party was unable to establish a government or finish as the leading opposition party in the 2018 general election.

List of Presidents of Pakistan Peoples Party

The current President is Bilawal Bhutto Zardari

Sr. No.Name:Year (Time Period)
1Zulfikar Ali Bhutto1973–1977
2Benazir Bhutto1988–1990; 1993–1996
3Yousaf Raza Gillani2008–2012
4Raja Pervaiz Ashraf2012–2013


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *