June 15, 2024

Major Political Parties in India


India is governed by a multi-party system. The Election Commission of India (ECI) recognizes political parties in India at the national and state levels based on objective standards. A certified political party is an entity to benefits such as a designated party emblem. However, free broadcast time on state-run television and radio, discussion in the selection of election times. Furthermore, a political party influence the development of elections laws and regulations.

Other political parties in India that want to run in municipal, state, or national elections must register with the Indian Election Commission. If a registered party meets the applicable conditions following a Lok Sabha or State legislative assembly election, the ECI upgrades it to a recognized National Party or State Party. The ECI reviews the status of Recognized Parties on a regular basis.

Prior to the revision in 2016 if a political party did not meet the conditions in a future Lok Sabha or state legislative assembly election, it lost its position as a recognized party. The ECI announce in 2016 that rather than each election, such a review will take place after two successive elections. As a result, a political party’s recognize Party status will be maintained even if it fails to fulfill the conditions in the next election. However, if they do not match the conditions in the next election, they will lose their position.

According to the ECI, the most recent publication of India, the total number of parties registered was 2858. However, all registered political parties running in elections must select a symbol from a list provided by the EC. Unless the rule of the President is imposed under certain conditions, all 28 states of the country. As well as the union territories of Jammu and Kashmir, Delhi, and Puducherry, have select governments.

Top 10 Political Parties in India

Party Name:Founded Date:Leader of Party:
1. All India Trinamool Congress (AITC)1 January 1998Mamata Banerjee
2. Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP)14 April 1984Mayawati
3. Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)6 April 1980J. P. Nadda
4. Communist Party of India (Marxist) (CPI)M7 November 1964Sitaram Yechury
5. Indian National Congress (INC)28 December 1885Sonia Gandhi
6. Nationalist Congress Party (NCP)10 June 1999Sharad Pawar
7. Aam Aadmi Party (APP)2012Arvind Kejriwal
8. All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK)1972Edappadi K. Palaniswami
9. All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM)1958Asaduddin Owaisi
10. Indian Union Muslim League (IUML)1948Hyderali Shihab Thangal


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *