April 15, 2024

International Cricket Council (ICC)


Last Update: November 01, 2023

The International Cricket Council (ICC) is an international ruling body of cricket. In 1909, members from Australia, England, and South Africa formed the Imperial Cricket Conference. It changed its name to the International Cricket Conference in 1965, and it was given its current name in 1987.

The headquarters of the International Cricket Council (ICC) is in Dubai, United Arab Emirates.

Recently, the International Cricket Council (ICC) has 105 member nations: 12 Full Members who participate in Test matches and 94 Associate Members. The International Cricket Council (ICC) is the rule organizing and governs cricket’s main international competitions, including the Cricket World Cup and the T20 World Cup. It also selects the umpires and referees for all sanctioned Tests, One Day Internationals, and Twenty20 Internationals. It promulgates the ICC Code of Conduct, which establishes professional standards of conduct for international cricket and, through its Anti-Corruption and Security Unit, supervises action for corruption and match-fixing (ACSU).

The ICC is not in charge of bilateral fixtures (which include all Test matches) between member countries, nor is it in charge of domestic cricket inside member countries. The Marylebone Cricket Club, which has regulated the game since 1788, does not make or amend the rules.

The board of directors is chaired by Narayanaswami Srinivasan, the former president of the BCCI, who was appointed as the council’s first chairman on June 26, 2014. Since the formation of the chairman job and other amendments to the ICC constitution in 2014, the role of the ICC president has mainly become an honorary function.

The so-called ‘Big Three’ nations of England, India, and Australia are said to have gained dominance as a result of the 2014 amendments. The most recent ICC president was Zaheer Abbas, who was appointed in June 2015 after Mustafa Kamal resigned in April 2015. When the position of ICC president was abolished in April 2016, Shashank Manohar, who had taken over from Srinivasan in October 2015, became the ICC’s first independently appointed chairman.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *